The Thinker



Wayne County Probate Court Employees: Access the WCPC Employee Page daily for important updates.

March 30, 2020, Detroit, MI – The Wayne County Probate Court, located in the Coleman A. Young Municipal Center, announced on March 30, 2020 that no in-person filings will be accepted and emergency filings may only be filed by email or fax, effective immediately. Furthermore, all hearings will be conducted remotely, whenever possible, using video and telephone conferencing technology. Access to courtrooms and other court areas is limited to no more than 10 persons in each area, including staff. Pursuant to Governor Whitmer’s March 23, 2020 Executive Order, the Wayne County Probate Court will be conducting essential functions only until April 14, 2020.

To confront this unprecedented public health crisis, the Michigan Supreme Court issued Administrative Order 2020-2, which highlights in specific detail essential functions. This order supersedes any previously issued Local Administrative Orders regarding the crisis.

“The Wayne County Probate Court is doing everything it can to protect the health and safety of our citizens and users of the Court while continuing to provide essential services. We are adjusting as quickly as possible to the crisis, and we appreciate the public’s support and patience as we work to put more business online in the coming days,” said Chief Judge Freddie G. Burton, Jr.

Essential functions for the Wayne County Probate Court include:

• mental health pick-up/transport orders
• other mental health petitions, including petitions for hospitalization
• petitions for immediate funeral/burial arrangements
• guardianships involving life-threatening medical emergencies
• conservatorships with immediate pending evictions/foreclosures/shut off notices
• estates where immediate access to residence is necessary
• requests for ex-parte temporary restraining orders
• emergency petitions filed by Adult Protective Services and Child Protective Services

These emergency items can be filed via FAX or email. Click here for a link as to how to do this. Do not come to the courthouse in person; you will not be able to file in person. These extraordinary measures are in place to protect the public and our staff.

Non-emergency pleadings may still be sent by mail or fax, per our regular policies but processing times will be delayed.

Questions may be directed to which will be monitored by court staff during the closure period. We appreciate your patience and understanding as we face this public health challenge together.

Information around this outbreak is changing rapidly. The latest information is available at and

Visit the Judiciary Response to COVID-19 page for additional information.




Judges of Probate

Hon. Freddie G. Burton, Jr., Chief Judge
Hon. David Braxton, Chief Judge Pro Tempore
Hon. Judy A. Hartsfield
Hon. Frank S. Szymanski
Hon. Terrance A. Keith
Hon. Lisa Marie Neilson
Hon. Lawrence J. Paolucci
Hon. David A. Perkins