Hours of Operation

Service Hours

8:00am - 12:30pm and 1:30pm - 4:30pm

Filing Hours

8:00am - 4:00pm

Location

Wayne County Probate Court
1307 Coleman A. Young Municipal Center
2 Woodward Avenue Detroit, Michigan 48226

Phone 313-224-5706

Request For Accommodations - ADA

 

2023 Scheduled Closings
New Year's Day (Observed) Monday January 2
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day Monday January 16
** Records Day Thursday

January 26

Good Friday (Closed at noon) Friday April 7
** Records Day Thursday

April 27

Memorial Day Monday May 29
Juneteenth (Observed) Monday June 19
Independence Day Tuesday July 4
** Records Day Thursday

July 27

Labor Day Monday September 4
Columbus Day Monday October 9
** Records Day Thursday

October 26

Thanksgiving Day Thursday November 23
Day after Thanksgiving Friday November 24
Christmas Eve (Observed) Friday December 22
Christmas Day Monday December 25
* Closed Tuesday December 26
* Closed Wednesday December 27
* Closed Thursday December 28
New Year's Eve (Observed) Friday December 29

*The Wayne County Probate Court will be open for emergency pleadings and to conduct mental health and emergency hearings.

**Only emergency filings will be accepted (mental health pick up/transport orders, petitions for immediate funeral/burial arrangements, guardianships involving life threatening medical emergencies, conservatorships with immediate pending evictions/foreclosures/shut off notices, estates where immediate access to residence is necessary, requests for ex-parte temporary restraining orders, and emergency petitions filed by Adult Protective Services and Child Protective Services). 

Mental Health and DD Hearings Schedule 2023 Mental Health and DD Hearings Schedule 2023